Logo der Universität Hamburg und DESY

Research Groups Accelerators

The accelerator research is described in the two following websites at DESY and Universität Hamburg:

ARD programme at DESY
Accelerator physics at Universität Hamburg

PhD opportunities in Hamburg are available in the following topics and teams:

Super-conducting RF structures towards long pulse and continuous-wave operation as well as higher accelerating gradients
Contact: Hans Weise, Eckhard Elsen

Generation of ultra-short, bright electron beams: from pico-second over femto-second to atto-second electron and light pulses
Contact: Holger Schlarb, Ralph Assmann, Frank Stephan, Klaus Flöttmann

Concepts and realization of innovative plasma particle accelerators: towards next-generation linear accelerators with accelerating gradients of above 1 Giga-Volt per meter
Contact: Ralph Assmann, Jens Osterhoff, Florian Grüner, Eckhard Elsen, Bernhard Hidding

Developments and optimization of Free-Electron Lasers (FEL´s): optimizing FEL operation with different seeding schemes
Contact: Jörg Rossbach, Ralph Assmann

Ultimate storage rings: reaching diffraction-limited emittances in circular rings
Contact: Rainer Wanzenberg

Future colliders for particle physics (i.e. Higgs factory, ILC, ...)
Contact: Ralph Assmann, Nicholas Walker, Brian Foster, Eckhard Elsen

Diagnostics of conventional and advanced beams
Contact: Bernhard Schmidt

Please note: The website of the Voss Wideröe Center for Accelerators, combining all Hamburg accelerator research into one reference place, is under construction and will be put online when available.

Lisa Katharina Roth
Infection and Structural Biology
Phillip Witthöft
Nataliia Kovalchuk
Particle and Astroparticle Physics
Jhilik Majumdar
Particle and Astroparticle Physics
Event Calendar
25 Mar. 2019 to 29 Mar. 2019
Speaker: GITULIAR, O., HAHN, T.
Location: SemRm 4a / 4b
25 Mar. 2019 to 27 Mar. 2019
Location: Auditorium, Building 5
25 Mar. 2019 to 27 Mar. 2019
Chaired by: Adeleke O. Dr. Bankole
Location: Seminar room 3
25 Mar. 2019 12:00
Speaker: Dorothea Ringe (DESY Startup Office), Nadine Weitendorf (UHH Startup Office), Nils Neumann (Hamburg Innovation)
Location: SR1
25 Mar. 2019 16:30
Speaker: Juri Smirnov (CP3 Odense)
Location: SR2
26 Mar. 2019 10:00
Location: building 61 (PIER Office), room 116
26 Mar. 2019 13:15
Speaker: Lin Zhang (LCLS, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA)
Location: 109
27 Mar. 2019 14:30
Speaker: Philipp Rösch
Location: SR2
arrow down