Logo der Universität Hamburg und DESY

Johann Haber receives Helmholtz Doctoral Prize

14 September 2017, Berlin

Johann Haber (second right) with Otto Wiestler, President of the Helmholtz Association (right), Johanna Wanka, Federal Minister of Research and some of the other awardees. Photo detail from: HGF/Michael Reinhardt

Johann Haber, alumnus of the PIER Helmholtz Graduate School from the DESY research group of Ralf Röhlsberger, received the Helmholtz Doctoral Prize 2017 for his PhD thesis in the research field Matter on "Hard X-Ray Quantum Optics in Thin-Film Nanostructures" during the Helmholtz Association's Annual General Assembly in Berlin on 14 September 2017.

The Helmholtz Association aims to support talented young scientists at an early stage of their career. The Prize acknowledges the recipients' academic achievements to date and encourages them to develop a long-term career in research. Each year, the Helmholtz Association awards up to six Doctoral Prizes, one in each of its six research fields. Awardees receive prize money of 5,000 Euro and additionally 2,000 Euro per month for a research stay of up to six months at an international research institution of their choice.

During his PhD thesis, Johann Haber has discovered a new way to strongly amplify the interaction of x-rays with matter. In future applications his approach may be used to enhance nonlinear optical effects in the X-ray regime and presumably to even generate non-classical states of X-rays.

Johann has started his PhD at DESY in August 2013 and is currently working as postdoctoral researcher at the National Accelerator Laboratory SLAC, USA. The whole team of the PHGS congratulates Johann for receiving this prestigious award.

More info at DESY Photon Science and the Helmholtz Association.

Giovanni Rabuffo
Theoretical Physics
Phillip Witthöft
Nataliia Kovalchuk
Particle and Astroparticle Physics
Jhilik Majumdar
Particle and Astroparticle Physics
Event Calendar
14 Jan. 2019 to 16 Jan. 2019
Chaired by: Bernd Klein
Location: Seminar room 3
Today - 12:00
Location: Großer Gästespeisesaal
Today - 14:00
Speaker: Trygve Helgaker (Hyllearas Centre for Quantum Molecular Sciences, Department of Chemistry, University of Oslo, Norway)
Location: seminar rooms I-II, ground floor
Today - 14:30
Speaker: Felix Aharonian (MPI Heidelberg)
Location: build. 2a, SR2
Today - 17:00
Speaker: Daniel Hirschmeier, Uni Hamburg
Location: Hörsaal INF
17 Jan. 2019 09:30
Chaired by: Alexander Schiller
Location: 456, building 25f
17 Jan. 2019 10:00
Speaker: Matteo Lucchini
Location: SR I+II
17 Jan. 2019 11:00
Chaired by: FS-LA
Speaker: Anne-Lise Viotti (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
Location: 13
17 Jan. 2019 12:00
Speaker: Fady Bishara (DESY)
Location: Library
17 Jan. 2019 14:00
Location: Konferenzraum 2
17 Jan. 2019 14:15
Speaker: Jacob Bourjaily (Niels Bohr Institute)
Location: SR2
18 Jan. 2019 08:00
Chaired by: Hans Fangohr
Speaker: Dr. HAUF, Steffen (Eur. XFEL), Prof. FANGOHR, Hans (European XFEL GmbH)
Location: E1.173
18 Jan. 2019 09:30
Chaired by: Alexander Schiller
Location: 456, building 25f
arrow down