Logo der Universität Hamburg und DESY

DESY Science Day

16 October 2019

Best thesis 2019 for Max Rose, fellow of the Joachim Herz Stiftung. Photograph: Marta Mayer/DESY

Not to be missed: DESY’s annual Science Day this year starts with a science slam with short lectures of PhD students. In the afternoon, the prize for the best PhD thesis will be awarded to PIER fellow Max Rose.

On Science Day, DESY is looking back at the research year 2019 and welcomes its new lead scientists, celebrates current DESY scientific research highlights, honours personal merits and awards the PhD prize. The highlight of the event is the Jentschke lecture, organized in memory of Prof. Dr. Willibald Jentschke, the first director of DESY.

The morning programme begins with eight short lectures of our young scientists in the fields of accelerators, astroparticle physics, particle physics and photon science. Among them are the PhD students John Bekx (CFEL), Vanessa Grattoni (MPY-1), Joscha Knolle (CMS) and Emily Thompson (ATLAS).

In the afternoon, the prize for the best PhD thesis of the Association of the Friends and Sponsors of DESY 2019 (VFFD) will be awarded to Marcel Usner (Zeuthen) and Max Rose (Coherent X-Ray Scattering and Imaging group). Max Rose is a fellow of the Joachim Herz Stiftung, a foundation which had granted him a full scholarship for outstanding academic performance and social commitment. Congratulations to both awardees!

The DESY Science Day takes places on 16 October from 10 a.m. – 8 p.m. in the FLASH seminar room and the main auditorium.

The Jentschke lecture starts at 5 p.m. William Drew Collins, Director Environmental Resilience Accelerator, Climate & Ecosystem Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory talks about “Climate at the Crossroads: Choosing our Planet’s Future”.

More information and registration: https://indico.desy.de/indico/event/24291/page/2

Chu Wang
Infection and Structural Biology
Christian Nweze
Photon Science / Nanoscience
Florian Christie
Daniel Marx
Event Calendar
08 May. 2020 to 01 Dec. 2020
Chaired by: Hans-Christian Wille
13 Jul. 2020 to 17 Jul. 2020
Chaired by: Manfred Lindner
Location: Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik
14 Jul. 2020 11:00
Speaker: Yohei Ema (DESY)
14 Jul. 2020 16:45
Speaker: Beate Heinemann (DESY and Freiburg University)
15 Jul. 2020 14:30
Location: build. 2a, SR2
16 Jul. 2020 15:30
Speaker: KUTAK, Krzysztof
Location: CMS meeting room
16 Jul. 2020 to 17 Jul. 2020
Chaired by: Gregor Kasieczka
Speaker: AMRAM, Oz (Institut fuer Experimentalphysik / UHH), CHENG, Taoli
17 Jul. 2020 14:00
Speaker: Ferdinand Schmidt-Kaler (Universität Mainz & Helmholtz Institut Mainz)
17 Jul. 2020 16:00
Speaker: Denis Anielski
Location: DESY-CFEL, Gebäude 99, SR I & II/Foyer, Luruper Chaussee 149, 22761 Hamburg
arrow down