Logo der Universität Hamburg und DESY

Francesca Calegari new head of the PIER Executive Board

18 February 2022

Prof. Dr. Francesca Calegari

New year, new faces: In January, Prof. Dr. Francesca Calegari took up office as the new chairperson of the PIER Executive Board which she will head for the next five years. She succeeds Prof. Dr. Franz Kärtner who served as the chairperson of the PIER Executive Board from 2016 until 2021.

Francesca Calegari leads the Attosecond Science Group at DESY, and is professor of physics at Universität Hamburg. The main focus of her research is to track and ideally control in real time the electron dynamics occurring in systems with increasing complexity from simple molecules to molecules of biological interest and nanostructured materials. She is one of the spokespersons of the Helmholtz-Lund International Graduate School (HELIOS) that is jointly operated by DESY, Universität Hamburg and the University of Lund.

“I am very excited to start as the new chairperson of the PIER Executive Board,” Francesca Calegari said after her election. “When I joined DESY and UHH in 2016, I immediately understood the vital importance of this strategic partnership, especially having both institutions involved in the two clusters of excellence Advanced Imaging of Matter and Quantum Universe and in the development of Science City Hamburg Bahrenfeld. As new head of the board, I am looking forward to working together with my colleagues to strengthen joint research programs and create new strategic avenues for hot topics such as Data Science, Quantum Technologies, Water Research, Particle Physics, Accelerator Science, Advanced Photonics and more.”
With taking up her position as the new chairperson, Francesca Calegari succeeded Franz Kärtner also as the board’s DESY representative for the field of photon science. Together with her, four more researchers started their terms of office as new board members in January: Dr. Ties Behnke (DESY) and Prof. Dr. Günter Sigl (UHH) are the new representatives for the field of particle and astroparticle physics, replacing former members Prof. Dr. Georg Weiglein (DESY) and Prof. Dr. Jan Louis (UHH). Prof. Dr. Alf Mews (UHH) joined the board for the field of nanoscience, succeeding Prof. Dr. Horst Weller (UHH). Prof. Dr. Nils Huse (UHH) was named new representative for the field of innovation, taking over this task from Prof. Dr. Robert Blick (UHH).

For an overview of all PIER Executive Board members, please visit the PIER website.

Questions or suggestions? Please contact info@pier-hamburg.de

Jennifer Popp
Particle and Astroparticle Physics
Leonardo Ranasinghe
Linda Vanessa Thesing
Photon Science
Ángel Ferran Pousa
Event Calendar
19 Jul. 2022 to 26 Aug. 2022
Speaker: Achim Geiser (CMS (CMS Fachgruppe QCD)) ; Achim Geiser (CMS (CMS Fachgruppe QCD)) et al.
Location: DESY Hamburg
Room: main Auditorium
19 Jul. 2022 to 08 Sep. 2022
Chaired by: Andreas Przystawik (FS-PS (FS-PS Fachgruppe FCP)) ; Friederike Januschek (DESY) et al.
arrow down