Logo der Universität Hamburg und DESY

DESY Science Day

16 October 2019

Best thesis 2019 for Max Rose, fellow of the Joachim Herz Stiftung. Photograph: Marta Mayer/DESY

Not to be missed: DESY’s annual Science Day this year starts with a science slam with short lectures of PhD students. In the afternoon, the prize for the best PhD thesis will be awarded to PIER fellow Max Rose.

On Science Day, DESY is looking back at the research year 2019 and welcomes its new lead scientists, celebrates current DESY scientific research highlights, honours personal merits and awards the PhD prize. The highlight of the event is the Jentschke lecture, organized in memory of Prof. Dr. Willibald Jentschke, the first director of DESY.

The morning programme begins with eight short lectures of our young scientists in the fields of accelerators, astroparticle physics, particle physics and photon science. Among them are the PhD students John Bekx (CFEL), Vanessa Grattoni (MPY-1), Joscha Knolle (CMS) and Emily Thompson (ATLAS).

In the afternoon, the prize for the best PhD thesis of the Association of the Friends and Sponsors of DESY 2019 (VFFD) will be awarded to Marcel Usner (Zeuthen) and Max Rose (Coherent X-Ray Scattering and Imaging group). Max Rose is a fellow of the Joachim Herz Stiftung, a foundation which had granted him a full scholarship for outstanding academic performance and social commitment. Congratulations to both awardees!

The DESY Science Day takes places on 16 October from 10 a.m. – 8 p.m. in the FLASH seminar room and the main auditorium.

The Jentschke lecture starts at 5 p.m. William Drew Collins, Director Environmental Resilience Accelerator, Climate & Ecosystem Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory talks about “Climate at the Crossroads: Choosing our Planet’s Future”.

More information and registration: https://indico.desy.de/indico/event/24291/page/2

Jennifer Popp
Particle and Astroparticle Physics
Leonardo Ranasinghe
Linda Vanessa Thesing
Photon Science
Ángel Ferran Pousa
Event Calendar
21 Jan. 2021 to 25 Nov. 2021
Chaired by: Thomas Tschentscher (European XFEL) ; Changbum Kim (PAL-XFEL) et al.
Location: Zoom
14 Jun. 2021 to 18 Jun. 2021
Chaired by: Kartik Ayyer, James Cryan
Location: CFEL
Room: ZOOM
15 Jun. 2021 to 16 Jun. 2021
Chaired by: Patrick Nonn (MSK (Strahlkontrollen)) ; Gohar Ayvazyan (DESY) et al.
Location: DESY Hamburg
Room: online on Zoom
Today - 13:15
Speaker: Qing Chen (FS-PETRA-D (FS-PET-D Fachgruppe P03))
Today - 16:00
Speaker: Gianfranco Bertone (GRAPPA, University of Amsterdam)
Location: DESY Hamburg
Room: Zoom
Today - 16:00
17 Jun. 2021 - 10:00
Speaker: Dieter Bauer (Institute of Physics, University of Rostock)
Location: Location: Zoom virtual meeting https://desy.zoom.us/j/91202137161 (Meeting-ID: 912 0213 7161, Password: 845021)
17 Jun. 2021 - 11:30
Speaker: Aleksandr Chatrchyan (T (Cosmology))
17 Jun. 2021 - 15:00
Speaker: Christoph Weniger (GRAPPA Amsterdam)
18 Jun. 2021 - 14:00
Speaker: Hitoki Yoneda (Institute for Laser Science, University of Electro-Communicatons,Tokyo, Japan)
arrow down