Logo der Universität Hamburg und DESY

Election of the new DOIT speakers

28 July 2022, 5 pm

It is time for this year's general PhD assembly, and we want you to join and cast your vote for the next DOIT speaker!

The meeting will take place the 28 July, 5 pm on Zoom. The meeting normally takes around 1.5-2h and a Zoom link will be provided before the meeting. At the assembly, all PhD students are invited to vote for the DOIT speakers for the coming year. There is also room to discuss topics that are important to you, and the current speakers will give a report on last year's activities with an opportunity for questions.

We will elect two speakers, who will represent you and all other PhD students at Campus Bahrenfeld. The DOIT speakers are in direct contact with the DESY directorate and PIER Helmholtz Graduate School Spokespeople and the Leadership of the Physics Department of Hamburg University, discussing PhD rights, salaries, working conditions and general well-being. They are also involved in organizing many social activities online and offline, together with other active DOIT members.

If you have more questions about the role of the DOIT speaker (in which structures does DOIT play an active role, how much time should I put in as a DOIT speaker,...) or the elections in general, feel free to contact us or the current speakers: Niels Giesselmann (niels.giesselmann@desy.de) and Philipp Amstutz (philipp.amstutz@desy.de). Or have a look at the website, where you can find the official rules for DOIT and the election as well (Statutes, German only).

Give a the new DOIT speakers your voice
Date: 28 July 2022
Venue: online via Zoom
More info on DOIT



Jennifer Popp
Particle and Astroparticle Physics
Leonardo Ranasinghe
Linda Vanessa Thesing
Photon Science
Ángel Ferran Pousa
Event Calendar
19 Jul. 2022 to 26 Aug. 2022
Speaker: Achim Geiser (CMS (CMS Fachgruppe QCD)) ; Robin Santra (DESY & UHH) et al.
Location: DESY Hamburg
Room: main Auditorium
19 Jul. 2022 to 08 Sep. 2022
Chaired by: Andreas Przystawik (FS-PS (FS-PS Fachgruppe FCP)) ; Friederike Januschek (DESY) et al.
arrow down